Travel · UK

Jane Austen House Museum Chawton, Hampshire

A while ago I visited the Jane Austen House Museum in Chawton, Hampshire. Here you can explore the house where Jane Austen lived and wrote. It’s located in such a lovely area, the village is so peaceful and quaint with lots of green space and cute thatched houses. Across the road is a pub which we had a cup of tea in, they also serve meals which looked pretty good. There is also an English tea room opposite but unfortunately it’s shut on Monday’s so we didn’t get to try it out. Free parking is available opposite the museum. Tickets cost £8.00 or £6.50 for students. You can then use this ticket for up to a year if you want to visit again.

Jane Austen Museum (14).jpg

jane-austen-museum-4jane-austen-museum-15jane-austen-museum-3

Jane Austen Museum (16).jpg
There is a short video on Jane’s life

Jane Austen Museum (1).jpg

jane-austen-museum-2
You can make your own lavender bag or write with a quill pen
jane-austen-museum-8
Jane Austen’s bedroom

Jane Austen Museum (9).jpgJane Austen Museum (6).jpgjane-austen-museum-7

After this we decided to visit Farnham town its a 20 minute drive from the museum. We went to Farnham Castle Keep which is free to look around and then went to the Botanist for lunch.

farnham-surrey-2farnham-surrey-1Farnham Castle Keep (4).jpgjane-austen-museum-11farnham-castle-keep-1farnham-castle-keep-2farnham-castle-keep-3

The Botanist Fanham.jpg

The Botanist have a huge selection of drinks I went for a mocktail as I was driving but will have to go back and try some of the cocktails. They have a set two course lunch for £11.95 or 3 courses for £13.95. I went for the sesame coated falafel and the hanging chicken kebab with sweet potato fries. The food was really tasty and I will definitely be returning!

What to do after

  • Go for a walk in the countryside
  • Visit Birdworld in Farnham
  • Check out Alton town

Bloglovin ♡ Instagram ♡ Pinterest

 

jane-austen-museum-pinterest

26 thoughts on “Jane Austen House Museum Chawton, Hampshire

  1. Woah, this is such a much see! Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors of all time! I think its’s time to come up with an excuse to plan a little trip to Hampshire…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the virtual vacation – much needed! I am always captivated by the charm of these little hamlets – rare in over-the-top, corporate capitalist USA, except in small towns. And, of course, much of even our young history has been obliterated in the name of “progress.” ::sigh:: I guess that’s why I gravitate to old movies – especially old Christmas movies (but never the ones that have been colorized).

    I WANT that bed – I have always loved the idea of bed curtains. Cozy and warm, but my tester bed disappeared in one of my many moves, alas!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just watched ‘Austenland’ on the telly a few days back. Such is the charm of her novels that people would pay to live a day as one of the characters in her novels. And, who isn’t charmed by John Darcy? You’re so lucky to have been to the museum

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It really is a proper English cottage. Weird, I’ve lived in Dorset and West Sussex, both borderlinae with Hampshire, for over 30 years, but I have never visited this village. It definitely is something I would enjoy and I am glad you did. 👍

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m so jealous that you visited the Austen Museum, it’s my dream to go there one day! I’d love to do a literary road trip round the UK one day, and the Jane Austen house is definitely the first place I’d go.

    Like

Leave a comment